11-10-15 Daily Journal Practice: Joy, Gel and Gelatos

Today I am starting a new page. I wanted to put down a fun background… so I grabbed a handful of gelatos. What are gelatos? They are similar to water-soluble pastels… but softer and come in a tube (similar to Chapstick). They also come in lots of yummy colors and you can find kid sets that are pretty inexpensive!

 

What I love about gelatos is that they go on like a crayon and can be blended.

 

Today I will demonstrate blending the colors with a liquid gel medium. Why did I choose a liquid gel medium? I am thinking of doodling over the top of this background. Like water-soluble oil pastels, crayons, and any waxy medium it can be difficult… if not impossible to write over the top of them with regular pens (there are very few I have found that will work… and even then sometimes they don’t go down smoothly. So, in order to make penwork easier I like to use gel medium because it sets up a barrier that makes it easier to write on. Also, once the gel has dried, I don’t have to worry about the gelato moving around when I add other “wet” medium to it… maybe brushwork or even penwork from a juicy pen can cause the gelatos to mix and move. The gel isn’t as juicy as water so it doesn’t dissolve and move the color quite so much. (I would also like to try using a wet wipe and see how that moves, dissolves, and mixes color.)

I used a large flat brush and brushed the mixed gel and gelato color into the page.

 

That’s it for today! Happy Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

