11-9-15 Midori Journal/Planner: Daily Entry and Weekly Commitment Circle

I wanted to share with you my new device to keep track of my commitment to practices. Using a circle with center and 7 rings, I divided the circle up in to several pie pieces. There are as many slices as practices I am working on for many areas of my life. My goal is to work on each one at least a little bit each day. My eight areas for practice: Relationships, Spirituality, Finances, Work, Fun/Creativity, Mental, Health, Home. I know I will be change some of titles but it was the best I could come up with last night.

Relationships: Spend some time working on one of my key relationships: my husband, my family, my friends. I really want to divide this pie piece up in half. One half for my husband and the other half for my family (I don’t have hardly any left) and my friends.

Spirituality: I wanted to actually wanted to add a meditation practice to my day. I think taking time to try let go of my thoughts (those crazy worries, the critic in my head, mental tapes that play over and over…) even for five minutes… can only make my life better. I also want to be able to do some spiritual/uplifting reading.

Finances: I really need to get a handle on my finances. So I will take at least five minutes to review the purchases of the day… how I feel about them… working on my budget… keeping track of my budget plan. In this area, one I am particularly not consistent at, any forward movement is a big plus. At least for right now.

Work: What do I really want to do for work? This includes deciding what I don’t want as much as what I do. Again, this is an area where any little bit of thought I put into it daily will keep this issue on my mind and help me move forward… until I figure out what my next step should be.

Fun/Creativity: This includes any kind of art (that is fun), writing, watching the sunset, hula hooping…

Mental: Anything that improves me… classes, puzzles…

Health: Moving – not exercising. I put it this week because so often “exercise” is something you do to burn off calories. A self-inflicted MUST that is part of the diet mentality. I have given up dieting… which has been a very difficult road but I have realized the “diet/exercise treadmill” isn’t the answer. At least it isn’t my answer. I want to move and eat… naturally. No rules, no guilt, no MUSTs and MUST NOTs. Funny enough, moving can be just the same as exercise… or completely different. Today, I did my Kettlebell swings and rode my bike in between swing sets. But I didn’t do it to burn calories… I did it because I am terribly out of shape. I wanted to feel my heart pump and that is the easiest way I know. I didn’t work out like a mad person, or push myself over the edge to prove I could and to lose fat. I worked fairly hard during my swinging sets and used the bike to gently bring my heart rate down a bit. It is all about feeling. But I could have easily picked a walk on the beach at sunset (unfortunately the sun sets now before I leave work), or took a bike ride, walked around the block, or hula-hooped.

Home: Anything that helps improve my home. Right now my focus is on purging – getting rid of all the collected stuff that no longer serves me.

And each day my goal is to color in the daily ring of each daily practice. It is a way to be able to keep track of how I am doing with my practices. By the time I wrote this blog, this is how much I have gotten done.

 

This is a compact and super easy way to keep track of my progress in my practices.

I have a couple more things to get done. Have a great Monday!

 

6 thoughts on “11-9-15 Midori Journal/Planner: Daily Entry and Weekly Commitment Circle

    • I hope not! I don’t want to make it stressful. I just wanted a compact easy way to take note of how I am doing with my practices. I probably shouldn’t have started out with eight… maybe four or six. But heck, if I only have to make at the least a 5 minute effort, I thought it was doable. I have been doing my practices without any way of seeing how I was doing for about two months. This will help me be able to see week to week what is working or what I might want to change. I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

      Like

  1. Congratulations! I think this is a wonderful approach. I agree with your thoughts on dieting. My new diet for health is four words. Eat less, move more. It works. I’ve lost 48 lbs in the past year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

