10/23/15 Daily Art Journal Practice: After Missing A Couple Of Days

The last two days I have punked out. I didn’t do my practice. Have not been feeling well. And though I don’t feel so hot today, I wanted to at least do something.

I decided to work on a background for a new page. And I wanted to use my trusty brayer.

For my first layer I put down yellow. Brayer, brayer, brayer!

Then I added white paint and brayer again.

I want some shine, so I grabbed my metallic orange and brayered it right in.

Wanted to add a bit more white but my white paint wasn’t coming out properly so I grabbed my bottle of white gesso. I did shake it but when I squeezed it out I hot a big glob of clear junk. Took a nearby baby wipe and wiped it up. Shook it well again and got gesso but it still seemed a little thin. Brayered it all in.

Because I got a lot of white runny gesso over my beautiful metallic orange…I added more orange and brayered it in. I am going to let it dry and see how I like it.

 

This page looks a bit bumpy because of the glue and paper used on the opposite side. I don’t let it concern me, I just go with it.

This page came out much smoother because there is nothing on the other side. I wish you could see the metallic sheen better. The shine makes me happy.

Happy Friday everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

